England to begin men’s T20 World Cup campaign against West Indies

England will begin their men’s Twenty20 World Cup campaign against West Indies in a rematch of the 2016 final, which was won by the Windies in dramatic fashion.

Eoin Morgan’s side are aiming to add the sprint format title to their 50-over crown, won during a thrilling final against New Zealand at Lord’s in 2019. “The men’s T20 World Cup is going to be brilliant,” Morgan said via the International Cricket Council.

“The standard of T20 cricket around the world is improving exponentially and every nation has a chance of becoming world champions,” the England captain added. “It should be one of the closest and most competitive world tournaments to date and we can’t wait to get started.”

Quick Guide

Men’s T20 World Cup 2021


Preliminary groups

Group A: Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka.

Group B: Oman (group hosts), Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea, Scotland.

Matches played between 17-22 October; top two from each group progress to Super 12.

Super 12

Group 1: Australia, England, South Africa, West Indies + Group A winner, Group B runner-up

Group 2: Afghanistan, India, New Zealand, Pakistan + Group B winner, Group A runner-up

Matches played between 23 October and 8 November; top two from each group progress to semi-finals.

Was this helpful?

Thank you for your feedback.

England’s first game in Group One of the Super 12 stage takes place on 23 October in Dubai. Their second game takes place four days later in Abu Dhabi, against the runners-up from preliminary Group B – either Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland or Bangladesh.

Australia begin their campaign against South Africa and face England on 30 October in Dubai, with the upcoming Ashes series set to add more spice to that encounter. Two days later, Morgan’s men will face the winners of preliminary Group A – one of Ireland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka or Namibia – in Sharjah.

A contest with South Africa at the same venue concludes England’s Super 12 campaign, and the 2010 winners will hope to move on to the semi-finals, which take place on 10 November in Abu Dhabi and 11 November in Dubai, with the final held in Dubai three days later.

Group Two consists of India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and two qualifiers. The tournament, which was scheduled to take place in India but has been moved to the United Arab Emirates and Oman because of the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, officially begins on 17 October with the preliminary group games.

Hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea have the honour of starting the tournament with a 2pm (10am GMT) Group B match on that day before Scotland and Bangladesh, the other sides in that group, do battle later in the evening at 6pm (2pm GMT).

Scotland also face Papua New Guinea on 19 October and take on Oman two days later, with the top two teams in the group going through to the Super 12 stage. In Group A, Ireland play the Netherlands on 18 October before facing Sri Lanka and Namibia.

Quick Guide

How do I sign up for sport breaking news alerts?


  • Download the Guardian app from the iOS App Store on iPhones or the Google Play store on Android phones by searching for ‘The Guardian’.
  • If you already have the Guardian app, make sure you’re on the most recent version.
  • In the Guardian app, tap the yellow button at the bottom right, then go to Settings (the gear icon), then Notifications.
  • Turn on sport notifications.

Was this helpful?

Thank you for your feedback.

Australia were set to host the T20 World Cup in 2020 but the outbreak of Covid-19 saw that tournament moved back two years, with the 2021 event remaining in its scheduled place. It has been five years since the last edition, when Carlos Brathwaite struck four consecutive sixes in the final over to help West Indies prevail in Kolkata.

What's your reaction?